hemhawseesaw

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Vacay, as they say

Good news- while my gluten antibody levels are higher than normal, they are lower than my previous levels! I have to keep reminding myself that it could take up to a year (or more) to get back to “normal” (have I EVER been gastrointestinally “normal”??).

So here I am, on vacation, but thankfully with a kitchen (and a supply of pans, a spatula, sponge, and tupperware that have never seen the likes of gluten- can’t travel light with Celiac!). I STILL have not eaten out in 4 weeks (holy crap! easier than you’d think!), and tonight I had local, fresh seafood noms, including scallops sauteed in coconut oil, steamed crab, and steamed shrimp, all prepared in the condo kitchen by my mom (with my gluten/grain/lactose/legume/-free, paleo paranoid guidance). Did I say NOM?! Otherwise I’ve been eating Perdue chicken and Laura’s Lean Beef (most grocery store meats have “natural flavoring” added… but Laura’s does not!) as my protein sources. I’m still attempting to reconcile my love of animals with a vegetarain-to-paleo transition. While soy is out of the question for the time being, I hope I am making the correct health decision to eat meat… (2 greats duke it out).

Gosh darn it I miss Larabars, but I’ve been better about carrying my own meat/fruit/veg now that I have a nice little cooler. The last vestiges of packaged food in my life include organic roasted chestnuts (Costco!) and the coconut flour in my previously-mentioned, paleo baked goods. I did cave in tonight and have a glass (or so…) of dry red wine (allowed on FODMAPs) after a month of no alcohol. Good thing I drove here and could pack a few different sized pants for such cave-ins (i.e. bloating and I-don’t-even-know-what-size-I-am-any-more).

Although the internet is a great source of information (HOW did Celiac people LIVE before??) on traveling and eating out, I can’t wait for the future, when (I hope!) people have posted about their experiences (did you spend the next 24-36 hours in bed?) at local restaurants. I may go upscale in Charleston to reward myself for such a long time without a meal not prepared/supervised by myself.

I’ve complained about the fattiness/utter lack of nutritional value of gluten-free products in supermarkets, and another complaint must be lodged against companies and websites that try to market dietary supplements for people with Celiac disease. Yeah, my skin’s elasticity sucks, I have perpetual scaly, dry skin on my right hand, but do I really need to purchase your supplement? Does it work? Is this a scam?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Undomondo

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Forbes - Science

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Forbes - Opinion

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Forbes - Tech

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Forbes - Health

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

New Scientist - Home

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Conditionally Accepted

a space for scholars on the margins of academia

A Year of Living Academically

Another Academic Blog

Science-Based Medicine

Exploring issues and controversies in the relationship between science and medicine

Blog RSS

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Sciencehound

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Scientific American Blog: Guest Blog

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

More Science from Scientific American

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

Scientific American Content: Global

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

NIH Extramural Nexus

NIH Extramural Nexus

Datahound

Just another Scientopia site

Drugmonkey

Grants, research and drugs

WFMU's Beware of the Blog

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

let's go burn down the disco

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

motel de moka

Indie MP3 blog mostly rock, pop, folks and electronic

Nourishing Meals®

The ups, downs, and runarounds of Celiac Disease and food sensitivities

